One thing that will DOOM your marriage

Right here is a marriage that is definitely doomed to fail:

What is wrong with you people?

What is wrong with you people?

My husband and I saw this last weekend and the conversation went like this:

Me: *Gaping in horror* How would that even work?

Him: I don’t know – maybe they work through it somehow?

Me: Yes, but … why would you even get married if you’re so far apart on such a fundamental life philosophy?  I mean, a difference in politics?  Fine – you can learn from each other.  A difference in religion?  Sure, I get that – no problem.  But this?!  No way.  Anyone that would put up that sign is either not in a happy marriage or is soon to get divorced.

Him: Maybe they just learn not to speak to each other for five months out of the year?

Me: *Shaking head* I still don’t understand how they would get to the point of considering marriage.  I mean, if you were a Packer fan …  I don’t think I could have married you.  I mean, the Catholic – agnostic thing is fine, no problem.  But this?  I … I really don’t think I could have done it.

Him: I know what you mean.

23 comments

  1. As a Packer fan, I’m convinced that the sign is a practical joke. Naturally the kids (if any) will gravitate towards the better team, leaving the Chicago fan isolated in the house.

    1. Oooooo …. them’s fightin’ words. 🙂

      And to be fair, I don’t know if anyone actually owns that sign. I snapped the picture outside of a local flower and garden shop.

      Here in the northern Chicago ‘burbs, you Packer fans are very bold. You’re everywhere. It’s not like it’s hard to meet a Packer fan and even be great friends, but that sort of mixed marriage just couldn’t work, I don’t think.

      1. Well, it’s not only an intense rivalry. There is another factor. The two biggest groups of assholes in football fandom are making marriages work. And I am writing as a woman from the Philly region.

      2. That’s interesting – I’m in the north Chicago ‘burbs where people are shameless and unafraid to let their Packer colors fly (traitors!). But I do wear a lot of green because it looks good on me and I’ve never had anyone challenge my fidelity and/or good taste.

      3. Oh, it’s never aggressive. It’s more of an inquiry. I have a tendency to wear mustard yellow, and sometimes it does end up with the green. That’s when the “Are you a Packers fan?” comes out. I usually answer, “No, I just like confusing the locals. Mission accomplished.”

  2. My brother lives behind the Cheddar Curtain. Once every few years, we meet at the Mississippi river. He on his side, me on mine

    He shouts from his side. “How’s it going?”

    “Fine.” I shout back.

    “Okey-Dokey,” he yells.

    “See ya,” I yell back.

    1. LOL!! The “Cheddar Curtain.” I love it. I am pleased to find out you are not one of those Iowans that jumped on the Green Bay bandwagon back in the ’90’s. Your personal integrity is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

